Payter credit-card payment kiosk (used in EV charging/parking payment kiosks) screw size
M4 · 12 mm long
Payter credit-card payment kiosk (used in EV charging/parking payment kiosks) takes M4 metric screws, 12 mm long.
The record covers payter Kiosk Install Manual explicitly specifies M4 screws for securing the internal reader module and electronics tray inside the kiosk housing.
This entry is marked likely and comes from evocharge.com.
An M4 screw is 4 mm in diameter with a 0.7 mm pitch, tapped with a 3.3 mm drill; imperial look-alike: #8-32 (4.17 mm) — the standard US PC/rack screw, close but not the same.
Payter credit-card payment kiosk (used in EV charging/parking payment kiosks) screw specifications
One row per fitment record. Head, drive are shown only where the source states them; pitch is the ISO coarse pitch for the thread.
| Thread | Length | Pitch | Head | Drive | Where it goes | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| M4 | 12 mm | 0.7 mm | not stated | not stated | Payter Kiosk Install Manual explicitly specifies M4 screws for securing the internal reader module and electronics tray inside the kiosk housing | Likely |
Fitment records and sources
Payter Kiosk Install Manual explicitly specifies M4 screws for securing the internal reader module and electronics tray inside the kiosk housing
pitch 0.7 mm · tap 3.3 mm · clearance 4.5 mm · PH2 / Torx T20
How to check the screw before you buy
- Rack and enclosure hardware mixes metric and imperial (#8-32, #10-32, #6-32), so confirm the thread before forcing a screw.
- Diameter: across the threads an M4 screw measures about 4 mm with calipers (usually a hair under). If yours measures noticeably more or less, it is a different thread.
- Pitch: 0.7 mm from one thread crest to the next (14.29 crests per centimetre). A thread pitch gauge or the pitch-gauge tool settles it in seconds.
- Length: measure from under the head to the tip for pan, button, wafer and cap heads; countersunk (flat) heads are measured overall.
- The record states 12 mm. Going longer risks bottoming out or touching parts behind the hole; going shorter loses thread engagement.
- Driver: the source does not name the drive. Standard M4 heads take PH2 for Phillips and T20 for Torx, and a 3 mm hex key for socket heads; a bit that fits loosely will cam out and strip the head.
- Tightening: no device-specific torque is published in these records. The site's general figure for M4 is about 2.0-3.0 N·m into metal threads and 0.8-1.4 N·m into plastic bosses; snug it up and stop.
Common mix-ups with M4
- In EV charging part numbers 'M3'/'M4' often means IEC 61851 charging Mode 3/Mode 4, not a screw thread.
- M4 and 6-32 UNC share a nominal diameter with different pitch — a classic cross-thread in US-market kits.
Buy these screws at TechSpare Warehouse
In stock and shipped from South Carolina. Our black screws are Phillips wafer head (low profile); match the head style and length to the original before you order.
More in Electronics, Racks & Enclosures
The same screw also fits
Devices whose records share a thread with Payter credit-card payment kiosk (used in EV charging/parking payment kiosks), closest length match first.
- CATL EnerX battery container also M4 × 12 mm
- Marine electronics housings also M4 × 12 mm
- Electronics enclosures also M4 × 12 mm
- UniFi rack shelf and tray hardware also M4 × 12 mm
- ETC Unison ERn Wall-mount Enclosure (theatre control processing rack) also M4 × 12 mm
- Wurth Elektronik WA-SSTIE steel spacer stud also M4 × 12 mm
- 19-inch rack cage nut (light equipment) also M4 × 12 mm
- DIN rail clips and enclosure brackets also M4 × 12 mm
Questions about Payter credit-card payment kiosk (used in EV charging/parking payment kiosks) screws
- What size screw does Payter credit-card payment kiosk (used in EV charging/parking payment kiosks) use?
- M4 × 12 mm for payter Kiosk Install Manual explicitly specifies M4 screws for securing the internal reader module and electronics tray inside the kiosk housing.
- How long are the screws in Payter credit-card payment kiosk (used in EV charging/parking payment kiosks)?
- The record gives 12 mm. Measure the original from under the head (overall for a countersunk head) to confirm before ordering.
- What is the thread pitch of an M4 screw?
- 0.7 mm (coarse), which is the standard pitch for M4 machine screws; a 0.5 mm fine pitch exists but is uncommon. The tap drill is 3.3 mm and the normal clearance hole is 4.5 mm.
- What screwdriver do I need for Payter credit-card payment kiosk (used in EV charging/parking payment kiosks)?
- The sources do not name the drive. For M4, Phillips heads normally take PH2 and Torx heads T20; socket heads take a 3 mm hex key.
- Can I use an imperial screw instead of M4?
- No. Imperial look-alike: #8-32 (4.17 mm) — the standard US PC/rack screw, close but not the same. Use a true M4 screw so it does not cross-thread or strip the hole.

